Larry and Debby Kline artists and provocateurs – installation, performances, and other works

San Diego Union Tribune, “SD Art Prize Honors Hubbell, Klines,” April 9, 2013.

SD Art Prize honors Hubbell_COMBINE










































San Diego Union Tribune, “SD Art Prize Honors Hubbell, Klines,” by James Chute, April 9, 2013.

Artists James Hubbell and Debby and Larry Kline are the 2013 winners of the San Diego Art Prize.

Presented by the San Diego Visual Arts Network, the prize “spotlights established San Diego artists and emerging artists whose outstanding achievements in the field of visual arts merit recognition.”

Hubbell and the Klines will each select an “emerging artist” whose works will be exhibited, with theirs, at the Nov. 7-10 Art San Diego Contemporary Art Fair in Balboa Park and in a 2014 exhibition at the Athenaeum Music & Arts Library in La Jolla.

Art by the 2012 winners, Arline Fisch and Jeffery Laudenslager, with their “emerging artist” choices Vincent Robles and Deanne Sabeck, is now on exhibit at the Athenaeum through May 4.

James Hubbell is widely known for his numerous public and private commissions ranging from fountains to architectural elements. A wide range of his sculptures are on display (through June 2) at the Oceanside Museum of Art in the exhibit, “In Search of Shadows: James Hubbell Sculpture.”

Debby and Larry Kline have had exhibitions at the Mission Cultural Center for Latino Arts (San Francisco), California Center for the Arts Museum, La Casa del Tunel Art Center (Tijuana), Southwestern College Art Gallery, Mesa College Art Gallery and the Athenaeum.

The Visual Arts Network also sponsors an annual “New Contemporaries” exhibition, which this year will be June 1-30 at the Sparks Gallery.

The artists chosen for that show (by the same committee that votes on the art prize) are: Jennifer Anderson, Irene de Watteville, Michelle Kurtis Cole, Franco Mendez Calvillo, James Enos, Brennan Hubbell, Sonia López-Chávez, Marie Najera, Timothy Earl Neill, Griselda Rosas, Ilanit Shalev, and Anna Stump.



Comments are closed.